National freecall: 1800 655 510    Member Portal  

2018 NSCA/Fire & Safety Australia Diploma in WHS Scholarship

2018 NSCA/Fire & Safety Australia Diploma in WHS Scholarship


WIN a Scholarship

In partnership with Fire & Safety Australia, NSCA Foundation is delighted to offer two candidates a scholarship for the NSCA WHS Diploma course. Each scholarship is valued at $1,990. The Diploma in Work Health and Safety (WHS) provides participants with the opportunity to grow their practical knowledge and skills in the development, implementation and management of WHS programs/systems. Nominations are now open for submission based on the following criteria.

In 200 words or less for each question, state why you wish to apply for a scholarship in a Diploma of Work Health and Safety, covering the following points:

  • What attracts you to occupational health and safety?
  • What past training and/or experience have you had in occupational health and safety?
  • How would this training benefit you in your present/future role?

The successful applicants will be judged by the NSCA Foundation Board of Directors and will be formally announced at the National Safety Awards Gala Luncheon in October. Each winner will also be awarded a complimentary NSCA Foundation membership. Jamie Burrage, General Manager of the NSCA Foundation said, “We hope this initiative provides a platform for two inspired candidates to build on their enthusiasm to make Australian workplaces safe and become tomorrow’s safety leaders.” Fire & Safety Australia’s CEO, Tony Metcalf added, “FSA’s mission is to change safety in the world one experience at a time. This goal can be achieved by educating students in Health and Safety through courses such as these that we have donated to the Foundation.”

To Apply

  1. Click the Apply Today button below which will direct you to the application portal
  2. Create your profile
  3. Select start nomination
  4. In the details tab select the category NSCA/Fire & Safety Australia Diploma in WHS Scholarship and input your name instead of the organisation name and then select Save + next
  5. In the criteria tab, answer the questions (noting the word limits)
  6. Complete your details on the nominator details tab
  7. Click submit nomination

Entries close at 11:59pm AEST Friday 29 June 2018. For any assistance in applying, please contact the NSCA Foundation Awards team on 02 8879 8290 or


Terms & Conditions

Eligibility: The scholarship is open to Australian citizens or permanent residents currently residing within Australia.

Prize: Two scholarships will be awarded with each scholarship comprising of an enrollment in the Diploma of Work Health and Safety (either online or in person), a complimentary 12 month individual membership with the NSCA Foundation (membership will commence on date of enrollment in the Diploma of Work, Health and Safety) and a complimentary ticket to the 2018 National Safety Awards Gala Luncheon. Note: If the winning entrant does not meet the pre-requisites for the Diploma, they will instead be enrolled in the Certificate IV

Judging: All nominations will be judged by the NSCA Foundation Board of Directors and a representative of Fire & Safety Australia.

Timeline: The nomination period will close at 11:59pm AEST Friday 29 June 2018. Judging will occur during July and August with the winners notified by early September. The Awards Gala Luncheon will be held on Thursday 11 October at Doltone House, Hyde Park, Sydney.


© Fire and Safety Australia Pty Ltd

Connect with the NSCA on LinkedIn Subscribe to RSS feed


The name NSCA & other NSCA brands & logos are trademarks of Fire and Safety Australia Pty Ltd & are used under licence. The NSCA is a registered Training Organisation RTO No: 22250.