National freecall: 1800 655 510    Member Portal  

News Articles and Updates Archive

Filter by: National Safety Awards

Agribusiness Elders has won the pinnacle award at this year’s NSCA Foundation/GIO Workers Compensation National Safety Awards of Excellence.

Held in the Grand Ballroom at the Shangri-La Hotel in the Rocks in Sydney on 15 October, the awards showcased each award nominee’s innovative safety plans and programs.

Elders took out the top award for their “Stand Up and Speak Up” safety communications strategy, which reinforces that nothing is so important that it cannot be done safely. Earlier in the proceedings Elders won the award for Best Communication of a Safety Message, which put them in contention for the top award.

As Master of Ceremonies, Channel Seven Sunrise journalist Edwina “Eddie” Bartholomew took charge of the smooth running of this year’s proceedings.

Dylan Alcott, gold and silver medallist in wheelchair basketball at the Beijing 2008 and London 2012 Paralympics respectively, gave the keynote address.

All the winners on the day included:

  • SA Water Corporation, Best Continuous Improvement of a WHS Management System;
  • Adams Heavy Haulage, Best Solution of a WHS Risk (Small Business);
  • Adelaide Cemeteries, Best Solution of a WHS Risk (Medium to Large Business);
  • Elders, Best Communication of a Safety Message;
  • Employers Mutual, Best WHS Training Program;
  • Stephen Shield from BOC, Ian Chisholm Award for the Best Individual WHS Achievement;
  • Metropolitan Express Transport Services, Best Safety Leadership Program/ Initiative;
  • Kimberly-Clark Australia, Best Health and Wellbeing Program; and
  • Sparke Helmore Lawyers, NSCA Foundation Member of the Year.

For more detail, visit the awards.

Published on 22 October 2015 in the NSCA Foundation Safe-T-Bulletin enewsletter – available free every fortnight direct to your email. Subscribe online today.

There’s only 1 month to go before entries close into the National Safety Awards of Excellence.

So enter today and celebrate your WHS achievements as an Australian safety leader at work, in your industry and your business community.

Don’t miss out! Visit – It’s free and easy to enter!

Entries close Sunday 6 July.

If you require any assistance in opening an account, submitting an entry or have any questions, email or call 1800 655 510.

Have you visited

Why not create an account and enter today! It is easy and free.

By entering the National Safety Awards of Excellence you are showcasing your talent and demonstrating the value of WHS in your industry.

2013 Winner: Best Individual WHS Achievement – Daniel Smith
“I would strongly encourage other businesses/individuals to enter the awards. They help to showcase safety talent in a diverse range of industries, and being a winner (or even a finalist) helps raise your profile, with recognition from highly regarded safety professionals across Australia”.

daniel smith

Daniel Smith from Royal Automobile Club of Western Australia. Read more »

Reasons to Enter

  • Share your solutions with your industry
  • Look after your work mates
  • Lead by example and be recognised.

Entries close Sunday 6 July 2014.

To enter and for more information visit today!

Barwon Water Alliance has won top honours at the 2013 NSCA/GIO National Safety Awards of Excellence.

The winners of the 21st annual safety awards were announced at a ceremony held in Sydney last week.

Barwon Water Alliance beat seven other contenders to win the pinnacle award, GIO Workers Compensation Award for Excellence in WHS.

Finalists for the pinnacle award comprised the eight category winners:

• Tenix Group, ManpowerGroup Best Continuous Improvement of a WHS Management System

• Equipment Safety Systems Pty Ltd, The Mac Best Solution of a WHS Risk – small business

• Namoi Cotton Co-operative Ltd, The Mac Best Solution of a WHS Risk – medium to large business

• RSPCA Queensland, SGS Best WHS Training Program

• Metro, Safe Work Australia Best Communication of a Safety Message

• Daniel Smith, Royal Automobile Club of Western Australia (Inc.), Ian Chisholm Award for the Best Individual WHS Achievement

• Hydro Tasmania, Ansell Best Health and Wellbeing Program

• Barwon Water Alliance, Brookfield Multiplex Constructions Best Safety Leadership Program/Initiative

The NSCA Member of the Year was also announced. This award went to Interface Landscapes.

For more details, visit award winners.

Published on 24 October 2013 in NSCA Safe-T-Bulletin.


Safety and Training E-Bulletin is a free subscription service emailed fortnightly with news, training dates and NSCA updates.


© Fire and Safety Australia Pty Ltd

Connect with the NSCA on LinkedIn Subscribe to RSS feed


The name NSCA & other NSCA brands & logos are trademarks of Fire and Safety Australia Pty Ltd & are used under licence. The NSCA is a registered Training Organisation RTO No: 22250.